Beef Shorthorn logo
Show Results

Derriaghy Shorthorns take National Show crown

Northern Irish Beef Shorthorn breeders and enthusiasts enjoyed a very successful day at their National Show on Saturday 8th June. The overall Championship went to the 2019 born Senior Bull Bethlehem Malton, from the Derriaghy Shorthorn herd owned by Leanne Green. Following on from his recent success at Balmoral, Mervyn Robinson, stockman at Cherryvalley clinched the Reserve Championship with “Cherryvalley Thriving”.

L-R :Champion Bethlehem Malton, Ian Rea, Leanne Green, Uel Bailie (Vice Chair NI Beef Shorthorn Club), Michael Conway (judge) and Jessica Wright ( representing sponsor JMW Farms)

L-R: Cherryvalley Thriving, Mervyn Robinson (stockman at Cherryvalley), Michael Conway (judge) and Jessica Wright (JMW Farms)

Class Results

Senior Bull:

1st:   Bethlehem Malton EX95 – Owned by Leanne Green, Derriaghy Shorthorns and bred by Thomas Fox

2nd:  Windsorhouse Rockstar – Owned by Rachel Jordan, Annaghanoon Shorthorns and bred by Hammill Brothers.

Intermediate Bull

1st : Rigg Takota  – Owned and bred by Percy & Jenson Lindsay

Junior Bull

1st Errington Tomboy – Owned by James and Ivan Walmsley and bred by Adrian Beatty

Senior Cow

1st Mullaghglass Lady Annetta 6th EX94 owned and bred by the Henning family and shown with her  January 2024 born heifer calf Mullaglass Lady Annetta 11th at foot

2nd- Croobview Lady Anna – owned by Rachel Jordan, Annaghanoon and bred by the Bailey family

Senior Heifer (2022 born)

1st Cherryvalley Thriving- owned and bred by Cherryvalley Shorthorns

2nd  Bushypark Dandoline 5th – owned by Percy and Jenson Lindsay, Rigg Shorthorns and bred by the Keane family

3rd Tullyglush Snow White – Owned and bred by Conor McDonald

Intermediate Heifer

1st Derriaghy Lovely Tara- owned and bred by Leanne Green

2nd  Cherryvalley Waterfall – owned and bred by Cherryvalley Shorthorns

3rd Ballaghneed Sweet Samantha – owned and bred by Ruth Bleakley

Junior Heifer

1st Ballaghneed Special Sadie – owned and bred by Ruth Bleakley


1st – Rigg Shorthorns  – with Rigg Takota and Bushypark Dandoline 5th

2nd – Annaghanoon Shorthorns – with Windsorhouse Rockstar and Croobview Lady Anna

3rd-  Ballaghneed Shorthorns – with Ballaghneed Special Sadie and Ballaghneed Sweet Samantha